top of page

Not Just For Cakes Anymore

I previously posted an entry about the mini-bouquet that I had made in honor of my grandmother when she passed away. I had no expectations for this bouquet beyond giving my mom a little reminder of her mother.


I did not expect that the bouquet would make its way to the luncheon after grandma's funeral. Or that it would draw a lot of notice and comments both in person and online. Or that these comments would lead me to make a few more bouquets. I just wanted to do something sweet for my mom.


Now I have more mini-bouquets to share with you.


I had 3 containers to work with and I allowed my color and flower choices to be lead by the container that was being used. It was very good practice to make these tiny flowers. A standard rose is not as difficult as a mini-rose because my big fingers just do not like to work in miniature. But they did their work and turned out some amazing flowers in some beautiful colors.




The first was a small glass vase with a cracked appearance. I lined it with a dark green fabric, tied a beautiful pink bow around it, and filled the bouquet with white roses and white morning glories. The white really stands out against the green and the yellow of the morning glories adds some gentle accents.




The second container was a standard sized coffee mug with a design consisting primarily of roses that were various shades of pink. I filled it with matching pink and white roses and the result was stunning.





The third container was an oversized teacup with a blue iris design on it. I filled it with blue and white roses and also some white stephanotis to bring variety to the shapes presented.



I am looking forward to the day when a bride approaches me and asks me to do the flowers for her cake as well as centerpieces for the reception. I would love to do bouquets in champagne flutes, wine glasses, or whatever container would fit the theme and style of the wedding.


If you like what you are seeing and are interested in purchasing a bouquet, or in having me design something new for you. If you have a special event approaching and want beautiful flowers to put on the cake or on the tables. If you just want to let me know what you think of my work, then feel free to contact me. I will love to hear from you and will respond as promptly as possible.






Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page